Book Review

T5W | Children’s Books

Before I got into full fill-my-shelf-with-YA-books, I used to read childrens’ books, especially those by Roald Dahl. I still look through shelves of children’s books when I visit bookstores since I still don’t think of myself as an almost-of-legal-age teen.

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is Children’s Books where I answer: This can include Middle Grade (but try to recommend more than just Harry Potter or Percy Jackson!) Feel free to talk about your childhood faves or most recent reads.

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme on Goodreads hosted by Sam (ThoughtsOnTomes). You can join in by visiting the T5W group on Goodreads or leave your answers in the comments below!


Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Series by Roald Dahl

I can’t get any more into the “Children” category than Roald Dahl’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory series. If you aren’t already aware, the series is about Charlie Bucket, an unprivileged boy who finds the last golden ticket to enter Willy Wonka’s famous candy factory.

Matilda by Roald Dahl

Another Roald Dahl story, Matilda is the story of a little girl who has “parents” that weren’t exactly parents to her. At school, Matilda has a terrifying headmaster, Miss Trunchbull, and a sweet and loving teacher, Miss Honey.

The Missing Diary (Mouseford Academy, #2)

If you are familiar with Geronimo Stilton, you might know his sister Thea. Thea Stilton is a teacher at Mousford Academy where she inspired a group of students to form a group. The Mouseford Academy series is a children’s mystery starring the mice friends as they uncover clues to various mysteries.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series by Jeff Kinney

The series tells about the adventures of Greg Heffley in middle school. There are currently 11 books in the series.

Nancy Drew Mystery Stories by Carolyn Keene

I last read a Nancy Drew book years ago but I know that the pattern in every book goes like this: normal day for Nancy, either her father gives her a mystery or she finds one herself, she seeks out the help of her two friends, they set out to solve the mystery, they run into close encounters, they invite their boyfriends, they take a break from sleuthing, their boyfriends leave, they get captured by the bad guys, they escape, they solve the mystery!


These are my favorite children’s books that I have on my shelf. I’m actually still collecting Wimpy Kid books, if Jeff Kinney decides to publish another one.

I’m also trying to find a specific edition of one of my Nancy Drew books because it stands out from the others. I own the 1968 version of Nancy’s Mysterious Letter while the others from the series were published between 1980’s-1990’s. Whenever I look at my Nancy Drew shelf, I see the older and more fragile book standing in between vibrant yellow ones.

What are your favorite childhood reads? And if there are any, what children’s books are you still reading/collecting to this day?

Leave a Reply

