Memes · T5W

Books That Aren’t Set in the Western World

Top 5 Wednesdays by Lainey on Goodreads

I have to admit: most of the books I own are set either in the US or UK, but I’m sure I have read a book or two (probably around four) that are about the east.

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is Books That Aren’t Set/Inspired By The Western World where I answer: I know this is a long title, but I couldn’t figure out how else to word it and still get the point across. Talk about books that are set outside of the Western World (so outside of North America and Western Europe) or if they are SFF, books that aren’t inspired by those places (so no medieval setting fantasy!)

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme on Goodreads hosted by Sam (ThoughtsOnTomes). You can join in by visiting the T5W group on Goodreads or leave your answers in the comments below!


Mga Uod at Rosas

Translated, the title literally means (Catterpillars and Roses). I read this for my Filipino subject in Grade 10 and I liked the story. The book is about an artist in Ermita, Manila who is struggling financially. He then meets a woman who helps him get his break, but said woman is a threat to his relationship with his wife.

Chinese Cinderella by Adeline Yen Mah

I read this for my Grade 8 book report. I’m not sure if this is strictly set in China or if it included scenes in Huntington Beach, California since the latter part of the author’s life was spent in California. This is an autobiography that told the story of when China was colonized by a European country or under war (I forgot) but Yen Mah’s father married a French woman and the woman disliked and practically mistreated Yen Mah.

Falling Leaves: The Memoir of an Unwanted Chinese Daughter by Adeline Yen Mah

This is a more complete autobiography and less dramatic than Chinese Cinderella. This also included a few scenes from Chinese Cinderella but extended further until Yen Mah moved to Huntington Beach, California where she pursued medicine and married.


I initially thought Iceland wasn’t in Western Europe (because if I was right, I’d have five on the list), but after some quick rsearch, I confirmed Iceland (and France) are definitely Western. Anyway, here are three books set in the far east. Two of which are non fiction and set in China, but they are written in English.

I actually can’t think of more recent reads that aren’t set in US or Western Europe so I think I’ll have to work on that…

Have you read any books that are not set in the Western World?

5 thoughts on “Books That Aren’t Set in the Western World

Leave a Reply

