Monthly Wrap-up

Monthly Wrap-up | July 2017

Nope. I can’t keep up until midterms, apparently.

Before announcing my inevitable hiatus, let me just make my final wrap-up before shelving my blog for the next three months at least.

I tried finishing books between school but some things just like getting in the way. With that said, I have only posted ONE book review for this month, and that makes me sad. I also considered the thought of posting personal updates every now and then, because I think abandoning my blog entirely isn’t really a good idea.

On a more positive note, I recently started my new editorial responsibility as News Editor (after being demoted from Editor-in-Chief) and I haven’t felt the stress I went through as EIC – yet.

Without further ado, here is a lack thereof in my blog this July.

Book Review

Stuff I Found

This post on Why I Write Unapologetically on Annie Likes Words made me rethink about the way I look at people. I also particularly liked the quote included in the post which goes something like “if people wanted you to talk nicely about them, they should have behaved better” and that made me realize I shouldn’t force myself to be nice to everyone, especially if they don’t deserve it.

Another post by Annie, How Annie Develops Her Characters, intrigued me. As a girl who spent most of her childhood writing amateur fan fiction (even before the term “fan fiction” was widely known), I never took into consideration character development. My characters were just characters. And reading Annie’s post made me realize I was doing it wrong. 10/10 would recommend, especially to aspiring writers.

I would share a few more links, but I don’t feel like they are relevant to book lovers. I’ve been looking up related literature for my two research classes (one in Filipino, the other in English) and they are generally about Dilipino grammar rules and fermentation. Nothing intersting about those…

Stuff I Shared

As part of Top 5 Wednesday, I posted about Books Without Romance. I excluded books for younger readers because that would be cheating, and I wanted to see if I read books that don’t have romance subplots.

I posted about the last book I read before drowning in a pool of school works. That book is Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. And I was excited to read it, until I forgot about it and got stuck on the third part of the book.

Lastly, I shared My First Time on various things so that my readers would get to know me better as I enter the legal age 🎉 (this is me lowkey telling you I am a July baby and that you should definitely greet me a happy birthday).

Leave a Reply

