Book Review

ARC Review | Piglettes

Piglettes is a fun, witty, and entertaining read that touches on the subject of bullying and independence. It tells the story of three friends who were voted as the three ugliest girls in school and how they turned the tables, calling themselves “Piglettes” and cycling through France for six days.

I received a digital review copy from Edelweiss in exchange of an honest review.

Piglettes by Clementine BeauvaisA wickedly funny and life-affirming coming-of-age roadtrip story – winner of France’s biggest prize for teen and YA fiction.Awarded the Gold, Silver and Bronze trotters after a vote by their classmates on Facebook, Mireille, Astrid and Hakima are officially the three ugliest girls in their school, but does that mean they’re going to sit around crying about it?

Well…yes, a bit, but not for long! Climbing aboard their bikes, the trio set off on a summer roadtrip to Paris, their goal: a garden party with the French president. As news of their trip spreads they become stars of social media and television. With the eyes of the nation upon them the girls find fame, friendship and happiness, and still have time to consume an enormous amount of food along the way.I was naturally excited to receive my first ARC but I had a difficult time getting caught up in the story but it was very interesting. I think the reason I didn’t initially like the story was because I found it difficult to understand some of the names, food, and places.

I liked the story. It was light-hearted but heavy. I also liked how it was witty and entertaining. Unlike other stories that introduce elements and forget about them mid-story, Piglettes was able to keep the main theme in focus even if it was introduced at the very beginning.

I was surprised that the story didn’t try to resolve bullying directly, despite the introduction emphasizing it heavily. However, I thought the way it was tackled in the story was clever. I also liked that it provided an insight on the bully’s point of view instead of solely looking in the lives of the victims.

Another point I liked was the beginning stages of puberty to the supporting character, Hakima. Assuming that the target audience is the younger teenage girls aged 13-15, Hakima having her menarche was appropriate, especially since it didn’t just lightly touch the subject.

I also found relevant the idea of the three piglettes being famous overnight. Being in the digital age, it seems very easy to become internet famous. While it seems glamorous, I liked that the story provided its readers kind of a peek on what it really is when you have people trailing you everywhere and invading your personal space.

The book overall seemed realistic and informative but I found the format confusing. It also used a lot of pseudonyms which I didn’t find necessary, considering that the story was fictional. I also didn’t like how the “journalists” were portrayed – biased and unprofessional. Although it was revealed at the latter part that the journalists were merely underpaid workers, I didn’t find it realistic, especially the main journalist that documented the journey of the piglettes.

I didn’t find the romance in the book necessary, but I think it was okay to have variety in the story instead of just having just one focus.

Overall, I liked the story and would recommend it to the younger readers who are just beginning to experience changes that come with being a teenager.

Leave a Reply

